The Tuscan Daughter

A book by Tessa Harris

The Tuscan Daughter was released on April 23, 2024. This title is available to purchase now.

 The Tuscan Daughter  Release Date: April 23, 2024

The Tuscan Daughter

A country at war. An impossible choice. A woman who will risk everything to be free.

Tuscany, 1942: having moved from England to the beautiful city of Lucca before the outbreak of war, Lizzie Thorton adores her job as tutor to eight-year-old Cristo – despite the fact that his father, Count Antonio de Falco, is a notable fascist and supporter of Mussolini.

Then war is declared, and Lizzie is suddenly regarded as an enemy in the country she loves so much. When new tutor Vincenzo Baldini arrives, Lizzie is exposed to a new secret world; Vincenzo is actually a member of the Italian resistance, running an anti-fascist propaganda magazine. Lizzie, desperate to be part of the fight, joins Vincenzo’s unit, and soon she is head over heels in love.

But when someone from her past reappears and threatens to overturn her new life, Lizzie must decide if she has the strength to fight for what, and who, she truly wants.

Based on true events, The Tuscan Daughter is an utterly sweeping and heartbreaking story of one woman’s resilience, courage, and determination in the face of fascism, perfect for fans of Mandy Robotham and Kate Quinn.

Praise for Tessa

‘So many twists and turns and I certainly didn’t predict the ending. Five stars from me, I highly recommend this book.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘An amazing story set during World War Two. Beautifully written characters you fall in love with from the very first page.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A mix of danger, suspense, mystery, romance and heartbreaking choices make for a story I would definitely recommend.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A unique historical fiction story that stands out from other books in the genre.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A bold, strong story and one that drew me in from the start. It is emotional, unique, fast paced, intriguing, engrossing and a book I just couldn’t put down!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A wonderfully written, lovely paced book. I read late into the night, couldn’t wait to see what happened.’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Loved this book. It was filled from the first page to last with action and surprises!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Genre:  Historical Fiction 

Readers also checked out these books

Freshly Released New Books

Looking for something really fresh? Check out our recommended pick of newly released books:

Leave a Comment