The Essential Harlem Detectives

The Essential Harlem Detectives

A book by S. A. Cosby

A book by Chester Himes

The Essential Harlem Detectives was released on February 6, 2024. This title is available to purchase now.

 The Essential Harlem Detectives  Release Date: February 6, 2024

The Essential Harlem Detectives

The Essential Harlem Detectives: A Rage in Harlem, The Real Cool Killers, The Crazy Kill, Cotton Comes To Harlem

A one-volume selection of four novels in a legendary detective series—blistering, groundbreaking capers set in Harlem’s criminal underworld—by master crime writer Chester Himes

A friend and contemporary of Richard Wright and James Baldwin—and every bit their equal—Chester Himes is the acclaimed author of literary novels, stories, and essays, as well as the classic crime fiction series for which he is best known, featuring detectives Coffin Ed Johnson and Grave Digger Jones.

Himes authored nine novels in the Harlem Detectives series, and in these four popular, accomplished installments, his cold, wisecracking sleuths are thrown into a brutal, murderous world, full of conniving con men, gun-toting gangsters, and opium-smoking preachers. Himes’s vision of Harlem’s criminal underground is both riotous entertainment, enriched by his deftly plotted mysteries and scintillating dialogue, and a penetrating look into the fraught tensions of race in postwar America.

Everyman’s Library pursues the highest production standards, printing on acid-free paper, with full-cloth cases with two-color foil stamping, decorative endpapers, silk ribbon markers, European-style half-round spines, and a full-color illustrated jacket. Contemporary Classics include an introduction, a select bibliography, and a chronology of the author’s life and times.

Genre:  Mystery 

Readers also checked out these books

Freshly Released New Books

Looking for something really fresh? Check out our recommended pick of newly released books:

Leave a Comment