Thanks for Having Me

Emma Darragh

A book by Emma Darragh

Thanks for Having Me was released on January 27, 2024. This title is available to purchase now.

 Thanks for Having Me  Release Date: January 27, 2024

Thanks for Having Me

The first fiction title from JOAN, consisting of interwoven stories about three generations of women in one family as they navigate girlhood, motherhood and selfhood, perfect for fans of Jennifer Egan, Meg Mason and Paige Clark.

‘A truly original novel about maternal ambivalence, the ferocity of maternal love, and what binds us to our sisters. I was so moved.’ Bridie Jabour, author of Trivial Grievances

Mary Anne is painfully aware that she’s not a good wife and not a good mother, and is slowly realising that she no longer wants to play either of those roles. One morning, she walks out of the family home in Wollongong, leaving her husband and teenage daughters behind. Wounded by her mother’s abandonment, adolescent Vivian searches for meaning everywhere: true crime, boys’ bedrooms, Dolly magazine, a six-pack of beer. But when Vivian grows up and finds herself unhappily married and miserable in motherhood, she too sees no choice but to start over. Her daughter Evie is left reeling, and wonders what she could have done to make her mother stay.

Emma Darragh’s unflinching, tender and darkly funny debut explores what we give to our families and what we take from them—whether we mean to or not. The stories in Thanks for Having Me are like a shoebox full of old photos: they aren’t in chronological order and few are labelled. Looking at a family this way reveals things we don’t see when these moments are neatly organised. Except that within these pages are a few moments you wouldn’t want to hold up to the light.

‘With this smart, funny, heartbreaking book, Emma Darragh bursts onto the scene as your new favourite Australian writer.’ Hayley Scrivenor, author of Dirt Town

Genre:  Literary Fiction 

Readers also checked out these books

Freshly Released New Books

Looking for something really fresh? Check out our recommended pick of newly released books:

Leave a Comment