Detective Matt Ballard Fenland Mysteries Books 1–3

Detective Matt Ballard Fenland Mysteries Books 1–3

A book by Joy Ellis

Detective Matt Ballard Fenland Mysteries Books 1–3 was released on April 10, 2023. This title is available to purchase now.

 Detective Matt Ballard Fenland Mysteries Books 1–3  Release Date: April 10, 2023

Detective Matt Ballard Fenland Mysteries Books 1–3

GET *THREE* ABSOLUTELY GRIPPING CRIME THRILLERS SET IN THE ATMOSPHERIC LINCOLNSHIRE FENS FROM #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR JOY ELLIS IN THIS GREAT-VALUE BOX SET.

Discover the author who’s sold over three million books globally. Nominated for Crime and Thriller Book of the Year at the British Book Awards.

READERS LOVE DETECTIVE MATT BALLARD:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Wow what a read! Such a thrilling book.’ Maureen E.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Love this series from Joy Ellis.’ Amazon customer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Couldn’t put it down. Great read!’ Crafty Jack

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Unputdownable — fast paced and set in the Fens with Joy Ellis’ special touch. One you won’t want to miss.’ eGJ

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘One twist after the other. Fantastic! Joy Ellis is a joy to read.’ Mr Kelvin G.

IN THIS THREE-BOOK BOX SET:

BOOK 1: BEWARE THE PAST
When Matt Ballard was starting out his career, three boys were murdered in the same area, the remote and bleak Gibbet Fen. When the main suspect was killed in a hit-and-run, the killings stopped. But Matt was not satisfied that the real murderer had been caught. Over 25 years later, Matt gets a photo in an unmarked envelope. It’s of the Gibbet Fen crime scene. And the picture was taken before the murder took place. Then another murder happens, with some of the hallmarks of the old case. Has the killer returned or is this just a sick copycat? Everyone around Matt is in danger as the killer plays mind games with the detective.

BOOK 2: FIVE BLOODY HEARTS
Grace walks into the police station to say she has information that could stop a murder. Her fiancé, the infamous serial killer Jeremy Reader, has told her that he has a disciple who is going to kill using Reader’s horrific methods. Reader is safely imprisoned in a high security prison, and claiming to be a reformed man who wants to help the police. But can Matt believe the serial killer or his peculiar wife to be? The Fenland police also have another investigation on their hands. A migrant worker is found dead on the fens with no ID, but a Tree of Life tattoo. The third body to be found with this distinctive tattoo. Is this gang war or something even more sinister?

BOOK 3: THE DYING LIGHT
Detective Matt Ballard may have retired, but there’s still plenty going on the fens to keep him busy. Someone trashes an old lady’s garden and daubs her isolated cottage with hateful graffiti. Emilia Swain seems to be totally harmless, so why is she being targeted? Matt’s friend Will and his wife Kate moved to Holland House to put their past behind them. But Kate’s mental state is deteriorating and she’s obsessed with the tragic history of the house and an old doll she finds. Has the dreadful past come back to haunt the present owners? Former detectives Matt and Liz want to help their friends and neighbours. But how can you help people who don’t want to be helped?

____________________________

This totally enthralling mystery box set is perfect for fans of L.J. Ross, Peter May, J.D. Kirk, Angela Marsons, J.M. Dalgliesh, Elly Griffiths or Ann Cleeves.

THE SETTING
England’s rural fenland is a strange place, with its never-ending fields, winding tracks, and long straight droves (the old livestock routes) that lead to nowhere. The lonely lanes are flanked either side by deep drainage ditches and are, for a good part of the year, filled with tall, whispering reeds. Closer to the Wash, high seabanks form a barrier between river and marsh, and the richly fertile soil of the drained land. But when the mists come down, as they so often do, perspective is destroyed and all sense of direction lost, and then the fens become a rather frightening place of mystery and danger. Somewhere that you do not want to be at night.

YOU GET ALL THREE OF THE ABOVE BOOKS IN THIS EDITION. DON’T MISS OUT ON THIS SELECTION OF BESTSELLING CRIME THRILLERS.

Genre:  Thriller 

Readers also checked out these books

Freshly Released New Books

Looking for something really fresh? Check out our recommended pick of newly released books:

Leave a Comment